Quantum Bayesian Networks

December 27, 2010

12 o’clock/3 o’clock Convention

Filed under: Uncategorized — rrtucci @ 8:49 am

My “code generator” computer programs output several types of text files. Among them is one type which I call a “Picture File”, which is an ASCII picture of a quantum circuit (an example can be found here). In such pictures, time flows downward, and each row (i.e., line) represents a different gate. Suppose the rightmost qubit is called 0, and there are 4 qubits called 3, 2, 1, 0. Then a single line of a Picture file looks like this

3- – -2- – -1- – -0

where the numbers are the names of the qubits and should be replaced by a gate symbol, like “H” for Hadamard gate, for instance.

In my LaTex papers, I draw the circuits so that time flows horizontally, rather than vertically, and I label the topmost qubit 0. Hence in my papers, each row represents a different qubit. A 4 qubit circuit would have qubits 0,1,2,3 in this order

0
1
2
3

To remember how these two circuit representations are related, I have a simple mnemonic that I would like to share with my readers, so that they won’t get confused when reading my picture files. The mnemonic is this: I use a 12 o’clock/3 o’clock convention (The other possibility, which I do not use, would have been to use a 12 o’clock/9 o’clock convention).

You see, I like to use terminology that impresses the girls, like this 12 o’clock/3 o’clock term, which sounds like jet-fighter-pilot language. If you say “You’ve got a pair of bogeys at 11 o’clock. Roger, Wilco”, you’ll get the girls swooning.

P.S.- As I discussed in a previous blog post, when drawing circuits with time flowing horizontally, I use the Dirac Convention rather than the Dan Quayle Convention.

P.S.2- In case you were wondering what I look like, here are some pictures of me when I’m not doing quantum computing.

GOODDAY SIR, I AM A CAPTAIN AND JET PILOT IN THE NIGERIAN AIR FORCE. I HAVE BEEN AUTHORIZED TO GIVE YOU $1,000,000

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

