Quantum Bayesian Networks

July 11, 2011

Landauer’s Principle Explained by a Hooker from Montana

Filed under: Uncategorized — rrtucci @ 7:36 am

I love reading the blog of Robert Perry Hooker, a CS grad student at the University of Montana. I find him to be a very clear and insightful writer. We’ve never met or even exchanged emails, but he has me on his blogroll. Thanks Bob, says Bob. The admiration is mutual.

Landauer’s Principle is a topic about quantum information theory (QIP) that is fairly easy to explain, yet very interesting and nontrivial. That makes it a perfect candidate for a post in my blog. I was meaning to write such a post, but Bob Hooker has beat me to it. I highly recommend

Landauer’s Principle
(a blog post in Robert Perry Hooker’s eponymous blog)

I also recommend all other RP Hooker blog posts.

Rolf Landauer (1927 – 1999) was an IBM theoretical physicist that made important contributions to the theories that describe the transmission of electrons, noise and information, especially in small structures. He did not believe quantum computers would work, because of noise. As the old sayings go, “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks” and “Science advances one death at a time”. Of course, Landauer did not live to see all the exciting QC developments of the last decade. Maybe those would have changed his mind.

Landauer was a mentor to Charles H. Bennett (1943 – ), also an IBM theoretical physicist / computer scientist. Bennett has made MANY important contributions to quantum computing and quantum information theory. I’m pretty sure that Bennett does believe that QCs are possible. IBM is currently putting a lot of effort into building a QC (they are mainly going for one based on superconducting technology)

1 Comment »

  1. Hey Bob,

    Thanks for your kind comments! I dig your work too. Let me know when you solve BQP ?= NP and I’ll tell everyone “I knew him before…!”

    Perry

    Comment by Robert Perry Hooker — July 15, 2011 @ 1:20 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

