Quantum Bayesian Networks

December 15, 2011

Q Comp, Q Comp! (New York, New York!)

Filed under: Uncategorized — rrtucci @ 7:32 pm

In this blog, I frequently argue for REAL QC programming (instead of QC programming vaporware). Frank Sinatra was also very interested in QC programming. One of his most famous songs is about the very subject. Here are the lyrics.


Q Comp, Q Comp! (New York, New York!)

Start spreading the news (Start spreading the news)
I’m q coding now, (I’m leaving today)
I want to be a part of it (I want to be a part of it)
Q Comp, Q Comp (New York, New York)

Make parallel moves (These vagabond shoes)
Like Schroedinger’s meow (Are longing to stray)
And pass right through pesky barriers (And step around the heart of it)
Q Comp, Q Comp (New York, New York.)

I want to write in a Q language (I want to wake up in a city,)
that doesn’t suck, (That doesn’t sleep,)
To find the min of the hill- ah- (To find I’m king of the hill- ah-)
Least of the heap. (Top of the heap.)

My classical views (My little town blues)
Are melting away (Are melting away)
I’m gonna make a brand new start of it (I’m gonna make a brand new start of it)
In weird Q Comp. (In old New York.)
If I can make it there, (If I can make it there,)
I’d make it anywhere (I’d make it anywhere)
It’s up to you, (It’s up to you,)
Q Comp, Q Comp. (New York, New York.)

Important news in the QC programming area: Recently, D-Wave opened a “developer portal“. A very good move, in my opinion. It’s sure to benefit not only D-Wave, but the field of QC programming as a whole. (Henning Dekant has an insightful blog post about it here) I hope that we will soon witness the emergence of even more portals into this new dimension.

3 Comments »

  1. Clearly if Q Comp doesn’t work out, you have a great back-up career as song writer ahead of you🙂

    Not so sure though, if we are going to see any more developer portals anytime soon. Despite all the experimental progress I expect D-Wave to be the only game in town for a while. Unless there is some dark night out there that has yet to emerge – after all D-Wave was in stealth mode at the beginning as well.

    I created a little poll in LinkedIn in, posted into the Quantum Information Science group, asking to vote on the favorite technological approach to make a universal quantum computer. I only have paltry 8 votes yet, but what’s interesting is that they are all over the place. Only “trapped ions” the technology that started it all hasn’t received a vote yet.

    My expectation is that we will see a clear front-runner emerge for the technology of how to make the hardware, before we can expect a universal Quantum Turing complete machine to hit the market. Of course one could argue that the superconducting flux approach is already leaving the rest of the field in the dust.

    In any case it means D-Wave has a huge first mover advantage that will carry over to whoever comes out with some useful software for their device.

    Comment by Henning Dekant — December 15, 2011 @ 8:56 pm

  2. That was supposed to be “dark knight” instead of “dark night” in the second paragraph.

    Although the world economy clearly seems to be heading for another long dark night – but that’s a different story.

    Comment by Henning Dekant — December 15, 2011 @ 9:00 pm

  3. I’m sure if Frankie were still alive, he would invest in quantum computing. Barring that, I hope Mayor Bloomberg, who wants to bring more high tech companies to the Big Apple, and who reads this blog religiously, will throw a few pennies in the direction of quantum computing, perhaps at Yale Univ., which is doing such a great job in quantum computing and is located in New Haven Connecticut, a suburb of New York city. Quantum computerists should occupy Wall Street too.

    Comment by rrtucci — December 15, 2011 @ 9:42 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

