Quantum Bayesian Networks

April 12, 2015

Gatto di Schroedinger infelice

Filed under: Uncategorized — rrtucci @ 5:19 pm

Inspired by Lubos Motl’s career advice, Matt Leifer recently started the transition from quantum foundations physicist to fashion designer. Matt’s first foray into the fashion industry is an “anti-quantum zealot” T-shirt. I was recently talking with a relative of mine from the Gucci branch of my family, the branch that still lives in Florence…

… So I was telling my cousin Vinny Gucci, from Florence, New York, about Matt’s T-shirts, and he says, “That’sa very good idea, but it needsa the Italian touch. Let me see what I can do”. We Italians are very proud of our excellent taste in fashions. Vinny just sent me today the following picture, which he plans to use to start a fine line of Gucci T-shirts, selling at $500 a piece.

gatto-di-shroedinger

Translation, for those unfortunate souls who don’t know Italian. “I was a happy Schroedinger Cat, until I was castrated by an anti-quantum zealot”.

Anti-quantum zealots often mutilate the axioms of the Copenhagen interpretation of quantum mechanics. Either they claim that QM has superpowers, and can procreate with another animal 20 times larger than itself, or else, they restrict QM’s well established powers, decrease its potency, one might say, so that it can no longer procreate well. (You will be happy to know that the formalism of Quantum Bayesian Networks neither adds nor detracts from the axioms of the Copenhagen Interpretation. It’s simply a graphical way of representing quantum density matrices.)

The above picture was inspired by this picture . My only contribution was to change the message by adding “di Schroedinger” and “da un fanatico anti-quantistico”. My Italian is not great, so if I made a mistake, please let me know.

3 Comments »

  1. Ero un gatto felice di Schroedinger
    Fino a quando non sono stato castrato da un fanatico anti-quantistico

    You could use “Finché” instead of “Fino a quando”, it is shorter.
    Negation “non” is not optional in good Italian for the meaning you want to give to the sentence!
    I can easily imagine, you will not believe me at first. I assure you, I really understand the phrase, simply
    Italian is not that straightforward with negations… as English is. But there is a logic, it has to do with exclusion
    or inclusion resp. of the moment in time or continuous action indicated by the following passive or active verbal forms.
    Or in other words: would your original phrase be correct Italian (it is not), it would mean: “I was an happy Schroendiger cat, so long
    as I was castrated by an anti-quantum zealot” (but this is not even a possible English sentence I guess,
    it would imply castration is a repetitive and even maybe reversible process, or maybe a long enjoyable one.
    Otherwise that would make a very masochistic cat paired with a sadistic, really zealous, anti-quantum zealot)

    Sorry for my English

    Comment by luca — June 23, 2015 @ 5:52 pm

  2. Also word order should be:

    Ero un gatto di Schroedinger felice

    I didn’t notice this at first. “felice di Schroedinger” would imply “happy about Schroedinger”.
    But I guess neither was Schroedinger happy about his cat nor his cat about him!

    Comment by luca — June 23, 2015 @ 6:00 pm

  3. L’ho riparato. Molte grazie Luca, il mio amico.

    Comment by rrtucci — June 23, 2015 @ 6:51 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

