Quantum Bayesian Networks

November 15, 2015

A Quantum Computer is the Ultimate Group Theory Box

Filed under: Uncategorized — rrtucci @ 4:31 pm

DIn previous blog posts, I mentioned my recent interest in using group theory in quantum computing algorithms. See for example,

Group Theory and quantum mechanics are like co-joined twins. It’s hard to tell where one begins and the other ends. So I was somewhat ashamed that I had used so little Group Theory in my quantum computing programming. I’ve been trying to overcome that weakness of mine in the last year and I’m beginning to see the results. I am all stoked up today because this week I filed my second US patent applying Group Theory (GT) to quantum computing (QC). This means our company http://www.artiste-qb.net now has 12 US patents on QC programming (6 granted, 6 pending)

I can’t say much about my 2 QC-GT patents for now because loose lips sink ships, but I did prepare some pictures to convey my enthusiasm for QC-GT. In a previous blog post, I waxed poetic about the connections between the movie “2001, A Space Odyssey” and quantum computing. This time, I adapted a “2001- a Space Odyssey” T-shirt that I think is really cool so that the black monolith has some hieroglyphics on it dealing with GT. Ta-tan, here are my pictures:
quantum-computer-group-theory
sign-qc-monolith
Very little of the art work in these two images was originally created by me. My images were mostly based on the following two previous images

  1. T-shirt image from this page of the website of tshirtbordello.com.
  2. Image from Wikipedia article on Point Groups in Three Dimensions. There are 7 infinite sequences of point groups in 3 dimensions with cylindrical (uniaxial) symmetry. The groups in each sequence are indexed by n. The n-th group has n-fold rotational symmetry about the axis of symmetry. This figure from Wikipedia shows those 7 sequences for n=6.
    300px-Uniaxial

2 Comments »

  1. Your picture of the wheels looks suspiciously close to mine at slide 7…

    http://cag.dat.demokritos.gr/publications/AnalogProcessor.ppt

    As for the rest, it will soon be shown in a paper near you, how and why an inhomogeneous transmission line is equally good for “quantum parallelism” – if you know how to “program” it! This time, “comrade interrogator” will make many a lip loose…

    Comment by Theo — November 16, 2015 @ 10:44 am

  2. Hi Theo, haven’t heard from you for a while. Welcome back. I don’t know enough to judge your computer but isn’t it limited by the frequency resolution of the detectors.

    Comment by rrtucci — November 16, 2015 @ 11:54 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

