Quantum Bayesian Networks

July 20, 2011

What’s It All About, Alfie?

Filed under: Uncategorized — rrtucci @ 8:14 am

The 1966 classic film Alfie is about a promiscuous young man, played by Michael Caine, who is clueless about what to do with his life and why. The first few lines of the movie’s theme song are:

What’s it all about, Alfie?
Is it just for the moment we live?
What’s it all about when you sort it out, Alfie?
Are we meant to take more than we give
Or are we meant to be kind?

The movie ends with Alfie asking the audience: “What’s it all about? You know what I mean.”

In this post, I don’t plan to tell Alfie what life is all about, since I’m still not sure myself. In lieu of that, I will explain to him (and you) what I think quantum computing is all about. In language hammed up enough to be worthy of being uttered by the great Michael Caine himself, this is my answer:

A Physics-Computer Science Collider
I see the field of quantum computing as a Large Ideas Collider. Instead of colliding two proton beams like the LHC (Large Hadron Collider) does, quantum computing collides two titanic fields: Physics and Computer Science. It asks the successors of Feynman and Turing to work together to build bridges between these two imposing fields, and perchance (if one can dream) to create a grand synthesis of the two.

An all too common human folly is to think that the field we are working in is the hub of the universe, that everything else turns around it, and around us. I’m not claiming that quantum computing is that. I can see that there are many other very important areas of human endeavor. What I am claiming is that quantum computing is a highly fundamental and nontrivial field, one that is well worth exploring because it is of infinite scientific, theoretical and technological interest.

I like the fact that the QC field has a clearly defined technological goal: to build a quantum computer. Other scientific fields don’t have as much specificity and clarity in their goals, or their goals are not of a technological nature. Planning strategy and allocating resources for the future can be done more easily and efficiently when one has clearly defined goals.

P.S. I’m very fond of making lists. In particular, I like to make them when I’m brain-storming ideas about a topic and organizing those ideas in a tree structure. In ancient times, I made my lists on paper, but this being the computer age, now I make them on a computer. I find it very useful to have a simple software tool that allows me to make hierarchical lists, lists with the little twisties so that I can hide all the items in a folder if I want to. I like software that allows me to easily add, delete and reorder the items in my lists. To make such lists on my Mac, I use a FREE (i.e., costs nothing) application that I found at the Apple website called Deep Notes. The lists in the above picture were made using Deep Notes.

2 Comments »

  1. Hi, Robert R, These are fabulous times, are they not, with everything moving at a quite frenetic pace.

    Is a quantum computer, or if you prefer, does a quantum computer have, a virtual operating system, for a package fully independent of, and yet fully capable of being an integral virile and/or viral cloud hosting entity with stealthy remote administration powers in all Future Presentation Systems of Command and Control with Computers and Communications in Creative Cyberspace ….. the AI Magical Mystery Turing IT Place?

    And are not all present human/virtual machine/SCADA systems in Current and Currency Running Operations, now Future Presentation Systems of Command and Control with Computers and Communications in Creative Cyberspace?

    And when so, what controls the all powerful controls in that place/space/virtual operating system or is one to be led to believe that humans inhabit and live in IT ….. as Global Operating Devices in Live Operational Virtual Environments …….. and IT and AI so easily delivers a Brave New World Order in Clouds Hosting Advanced Operating Systems for Work, REST and Play Modes/Memes.

    What then is it to be human? What is Man whenever their Worlds are remotely controlled by digitally manipulated systems and coded instructions? Are they more alien than earthly and/or more primitive poorly programmed machine than really free and artificial spirit?

    I suppose one merely needs to reprogram the BaseIQ System to prove that they are in a Quantum Controlled State with IntelAIgently Designed Entities, which then enables one to be both the one with the other for yet another which would perceive and deliver one such a MetaDataPhysical Existence…… Virtually Real Being.

    Welcome to NEUKlearer HyperRadioProActive IT ….. and Novel AI Future Presentation Systems for all of the above transparently shared Information and IntelAIgent SMART Players with Brave New World Orders.

    Comment by amanfromMars — August 14, 2011 @ 4:16 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.